Taylor claims first TCR UK pole of 2019

Taylor claims first TCR UK pole of 2019

Ollie Taylor, driving the Maximum Motorsport CUPRA, will start the first race of the 2019 TCR UK championship as the highest-placed TCR competitor after setting the fastest TCR time around Oulton Park’s 2.692 mile International Circuit. 

For the first time, TCR UK is running alongside the new Dunlop Tyres Touring Car Trophy series and TCR cars set three of the four fastest times, with the TCT Honda of Henry Neal claiming pole position for Race1.

Earlier in the day, Carl Swift (Endurance Financial CUPRA) set the quickest time in Free Practice and was the first TCR UK driver to set a competitive lap time in Qualifying with a 1:54.453. Sunny Wong (Teamwork Huff Motorsport Volkswagen Golf GTI) had a lap time of 1:50.883 disallowed because of track limits, with Taylor then posting a lap of 1:48.038 before Swift improved with a time of 1:45.657.

The second half of the 25-minute session then saw a battle for pole position between the two CUPRA cars. Taylor clocked a 1:44.842 with Swift immediately going 0.017 second faster before improving his best lap still further with a 1:44.733. 

With less than five minutes of the session remaining, Taylor regained the upper hand with a lap of 1:44.592. Wong improved on his final lap before the chequered flag to set a time of 1:45.728 and so the Hong Kong-based driver will start Race 1 from fourth on the grid.

Of the other TCR UK cars entered, Lewis Kent was sidelined with a mechanical issue with Darelle Wilson electing at the last minute to miss the Oulton Park event.

Race 1 is scheduled to start at 14.05 BST with Race 2 at 16.45. In a change to the race format compared to 2018, both races will run to a duration of 23 minutes plus one lap.

28a Hills Road
Cambridge CB2 1LA United Kingdom

TCR UK: General:
Championship Coordinator: Nicki Lines -